How we make decisions

Introduction - a guide to the council's decision-making structure

The council’s decision making arrangements are split into 2 elements – the executive and the non-executive – as established by the Local Government Act 2000.

The executive role includes responsibility for budget and policy development and the subsequent operational implementation of those budgets and policies. The council’s determined executive arrangements are those of the Leader and Cabinet model as prescribed in the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 whereby the Leader of the council is appointed for a 4-year term (subject to certain restrictions) and who then determines the executive arrangements of the council, including delegation to Cabinet Members, Township Committees and Officers.

The non-executive roles are, in summary, regulatory, constitutional and personnel-related matters. This role is undertaken by various Committees appointed by the council and by Officers in accordance with terms of reference and delegations set by the council.

The council also has 5 Township Committees, which have delegated powers from both the council and the Leader of the council; and three Overview and Scrutiny Committees established further to the Local Government Act 2000 and to exercise the council’s health scrutiny function under the Health and Social Care Act 2012.