Constitution of the council

Our constitution describes the 4 basic elements through which the council operates: the Council, the Executive, Overview and Scrutiny, and the Committees.

View the constitution of the council

Overview of the constitution

The constitution sets out:

  • The rules and procedures we and our committees need to follow
  • The decision making powers of the executive and of committees
  • Your right to inspect reports and background documents
  • Codes of conduct for councillors and employees
  • Information about members' interests and members' allowances

Documents making the constitution

The constitution is made up of 6 parts:

  1. Summary and explanation
  2. Articles of the constitution
  3. Responsibilities
  4. Procedures
  5. Codes and protocols
  6. Members' allowances

Constitution of the council related content