Nursery and reception home learning resources

Key learning areas

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) covers 7 areas of learning. They are all important to the development of your child.

These 7 areas are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

What to expect guide

We would recommend 'What to expect when? Guide for parents' - supported by the Department for Education.

It contains guidance for parents and carers with information on all aspects of learning. It will also help you find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first 5 years in relation to the EYFS.

Understanding how your child will develop and learn