- Park name
- Queen's Park
- 158 Queen's Park Road, Heywood OL10 4UY
Tranquil gardens and a picturesque lake for visitors to enjoy – Queen's Park isn't only a Green Flag Park, it's also a great day out for all the family.
Friends of Queen's Park is a community group set up to aid the preservation of Queen's Park.
- Opening times
Open every day
There's a range of facilities at Queen's Park, including:
- Activity centre, including BMX track
- Queen's Park Cafe
- 2 playgrounds, including a toddlers' play area
- Tennis court
- Free car park and toilets
- Crown green bowling green and pavilion
- Grassland, wetland and wildlife areas
- Site-based maintenance staff and secure fully fenced site
- Guide dogs allowed
Council-run bowling greens close each year from 30 September until 1 April while we complete winter maintenance work.
There is free onsite parking at Queen's Park.
Queen's Park opened in 1879 with money given to the town by Queen Victoria. The land was bought from the estate of Charles Martin Newhouse, a local cotton manufacturer, who died without making a will.
The park was extended in the 1920s to form the boating lake with land gifted from Alderman Davis Healey.