Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
  Non-Javascript users can confirm they have successfully signed out of MyAccount by clicking here

Candidates selected for upcoming Member of Youth Parliament election

12 January 2018

Member of Youth Parliament 2018 candidates.

Following a closely contested application and interview process, 6 candidates have started campaigning to become Rochdale's Member of Youth Parliament.

Those up for election this year are; Louis Tweedale from Hollingworth Academy, Bartek Szymkiewicz from St Cuthbert's, Myiesha Amani from Oulder Hill, Anita Okunde from Kingsway Park, Adam Wilkinson and Evie Gray, both from Wardle Academy.

'They should be really proud of their achievements this far'

Councillor Kieran Heakin, cabinet member for children's services, said: "Each year we see fantastic candidates up for election. It is really great to see young people getting involved in the youth parliament and the democracy process at an early age. They will learn so much in this experience that will help them in later life, they should be really proud of their achievements this far."

The election is now open and ballot papers are available from the youth service and will be in schools across the borough and we are hoping to beat last year's record breaking voter turnout of 11,000 votes cast.

Watch the Member of Youth Parliament election video on YouTube (6 mins 54 secs) - you can watch all the candidates give their manifesto pledges, and the topics they are passionate about, in their bid to win your votes.

Mental health, votes for 16 year olds, job and activity opportunities and preparing for adult life are some of the prominent topics candidates wish to focus on.

Heather Mellalieu, lead youth worker at the youth service, said: "It was a very close nail biting ending to a really enjoyable interview evening with all our shortlisted young people participating and showing us how much Rochdale borough has to offer, we are really proud of their work."

The election closes on Wednesday, 21 February 2018, with the results being announced on Thursday, 22 February 2018 at the Town Hall.

More information on our youth service