Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
  Non-Javascript users can confirm they have successfully signed out of MyAccount by clicking here

Reading groups at libraries

Monthly meetings on Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays
Time: 10:30 AM - 7:15 PM
Open book.
Venue: Various libraries - see details below
Address: Various libraries - see details below
Postcode: M24 1LW
Price: FREE
Suitable for: Adults
Facilities: Parking, Wheelchair accessible, Refreshments, Toilets
Event organised by: Rochdale Borough Council

You're welcome to join one of our reading groups. We run a number of them across the borough.

When and where you can attend a reading group

Our reading groups meet once at month at the same time at the following libraries:

  • Alkrington Library - 5.45pm-6.45pm, 2nd Monday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Monday, 13 January 2020
    • Monday, 10 February 2020
    • Monday, 9 March 2020
  • Balderstone Library - 5.30pm-6.30pm, 1st Monday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Monday, 6 January 2020
    • Monday, 3 February 2020
    • Monday, 2 March 2020
  • Castleton Library - 11am-12noon, 2nd Thursday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Thursday, 12 December 2019
    • Thursday, 9 January 2020
    • Thursday, 13 February 2020
    • Thursday, 12 March 2020
  • Heywood Library - 2pm-3.30pm, every 4 weeks on a Saturday. Upcoming dates are:
    • Saturday, 4 January 2020
    • Saturday, 1 February 2020
    • Saturday, 29 February 2020
    • Saturday, 28 March 2020
  • Junction Library - 2pm-3pm, 2nd Monday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Monday, 13 January 2020
    • Monday, 10 February 2020
    • Monday, 9 March 2020
  • Littleborough Library - 10.30am-11.30am, 2nd Saturday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Saturday, 14 December 2019
    • Saturday, 11 January 2020
    • Saturday, 8 February 2020
    • Saturday, 14 March 2020
  • Middleton Library - 2.30pm-3.30pm. Last Saturday of every month except December. Upcoming dates are:
    • Saturday, 25 January 2020
    • Saturday, 29 February 2020
    • Saturday, 28 March 2020
  • Smithy Bridge Library - 2pm-3.15pm, 3rd Thursday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Thursday, 19 December 2019
    • Thursday, 16 January 2020
    • Thursday, 20 February 2020
  • Spotland Library Group 1 - 5.45pm-6.45pm, 1st Monday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Monday, 6 January 2020
    • Monday, 3 February 2020
    • Monday, 2 March 2020
  • Spotland Library Group 2 - 2pm-3pm, 1st Thursday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Thursday, 2 January 2020
    • Thursday, 6 February 2020
    • Thursday, 5 March 2020
  • Wardle Library - 6.15pm-7pm, 1st Monday of every month. Upcoming dates are:
    • Monday, 6 January 2020
    • Monday, 3 February 2020
    • Monday, 2 March 2020

How to join a reading group

Just turn up on the day of the reading group to get the book to read and say hello to the other members.

New members are made to feel very welcome.

What you can do at a reading group

Each month, you'll choose a book to read at home. Then you'll get together to review, discuss, criticise or praise the book you've read before choosing another book to read for the following month.

You'll have the opportunity to get to know new people as well as discover authors and genres you might not have read before. FREE tea and coffee is also available while you chat.

Borrowing books for the reading group

You can borrow all the books your need for the group from us for FREE. So you don't need to worry about the cost of buying new books each month.

Other reading groups

There are also a number of reading groups run by other organisations and individuals across the borough and the UK.

Share:

Find us

Related events

Living Well sessions at Middleton Library
15 May 2018
Appointments available on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays
 
Living Well trainers can help you make healthy lifestyle changes and improve your health and wellbeing.
Local studies helpdesk at Heywood Library
01 June 2018
Every Monday
 
Get help finding out about local history and access the local history resources on offer at the library.
Crafts class at Balderstone Library
01 June 2018
Every Monday
 
Unlock your creativity with this crafts class for adults. Making and crafting may help with your mental health and wellbeing.